Every chart on Wattfeed is powered by structured, source-verified data. This page documents each dataset — its columns, date range, and record count.
Daily energy demand (MU) for 35 states and UTs across all five regional grids. Primary input to the state demand heat maps, seasonal overlay charts, and day-of-year comparisons.
DatePunjabHaryanaRajasthanDelhiUttar Pradesh7 sparse industrial/ISTS columns excluded. Values in MU.
All-India and five-region daily maximum demand met (MW). Feeds the multi-region trend charts and diversity factor computation — the ratio that measures how synchronised regional peaks are.
DateNRWRSRERNERUsed to derive diversity factor: Σ(regional peaks) ÷ all-India peak.
Evening peak demand at 19:00 hrs for all five regions and India. Tracks the critical post-solar ramp period and gauges pressure on peaking and storage assets.
DateNRWRSRERNERA rising diversity factor indicates increasingly staggered regional peaks — positive for grid stability.
Daily peak demand met for individual states and UTs alongside the five regions and India. Powers the state-level peak comparison and state profile pages.
DateState/RegionPeak Demand Met (MW)Long-form structure — one row per state/region per day, not one column per state.
Daily peak demand, time of occurrence, and unmet shortage split across solar hours (06:00–18:00) and non-solar hours (18:00–06:00). Reveals structural load shifts driven by solar penetration.
DateSolar Peak Demand (MW)Solar Time of PeakSolar Shortage (MW)Non-Solar Peak Demand (MW)Non-Solar Time of PeakGrowing divergence between solar and non-solar peaks indicates rising flexibility requirements.
State, regional, and all-India monthly peak demand met, energy met, shortages, and load factor. The foundational long-run demand dataset powering trend and regional comparison charts.
YearMonthStateRegionPeak Demand Met (MW)Peak Shortage (MW)Three logical sub-tables sharing one time axis: peak, energy, load factor.
96-slot (15-minute interval) all-India demand profile recorded on the maximum-demand day of each month. Enables intraday load shape analysis, morning ramp quantification, and peak-hour identification.
YearMonthDatePeak_MW00:0000:15Each record = one peak day with 96 demand readings — 7,872 individual data points total.
Morning, evening, and night peak blocks declared each month by the five RLDCs — start time, end time, block duration, and total declared peak hours per day. These windows define when peak-rate obligations and reserve requirements bite.
DateYearMonthMonth_NameMonth_LabelLDCDeclared windows shift with season and region — southern and western LDCs typically declare longer evening blocks than northern ones.
Two parallel daily diversity factors — one computed against the five regional maximum demands, the other against the individual state maxima. Measures how far apart in time India's peaks actually fall, and therefore how much peaking capacity the country is spared from building.
DateBased on Regional Max DemandsBased on State Max DemandsThe state-based factor is always the higher of the two — the finer the entity, the less its peaks coincide. Neither figure treats a sum of maxima as a peak: the denominator is the true all-India instantaneous maximum.
Monthly electricity generation by fuel type at both sectoral (central / state / private) and regional (NR/WR/SR/ER/NER) levels. Core input to the generation mix and Capacity/Generation charts.
YearMonthRegion / SectorSourceInstalled Capacity (MW)Programme Generation (GWh)Two logical tables (sectoral and regional) combined at load time. Excludes renewables and captive generation.
Monthly installed generation capacity by region and fuel type, including renewables. Quantifies the structural transition from thermal to renewables in India's generation fleet over the past decade.
YearMonthRegionCoalLigniteGasThe single longest-running capacity series on the site — 2014 onward, all-India + 6 regions.
Daily hydro, solar, and wind generation by all five regions and India. Three parallel series — enables variability analysis, curtailment tracking, and renewable ramp profiles.
DateNRWRSRERNERThree separate series (hydro, solar, wind) merged at load time. Wind & hydro run from 2014; solar starts 2018.
Daily forced outage capacity across central and state utility generating units. Quantifies how much capacity is unavailable each day and separates central from state-sector reliability.
DateCentral Sector Total (MW)Central Sector NR/WR/SR/ER/NER (MW)State Sector Total (MW)State Sector NR/WR/SR/ER/NER (MW)April 2020 COVID-19 lockdown period is clearly visible as an outage spike.
Monthly installed capacity cross-tabulated by region, state, ownership sector (Central/Private/State), and fuel type, plus the All-India renewable fuel-wise breakdown. Powers the multi-select Capacity Explorer.
YearMonthRegionStateSectorCoal6 regions, 41 states/quasi-state entities. Also feeds the Renewables page's Capacity subsection.
Daily solar, wind, and other renewable generation broken down by individual state and by grid region. The most granular renewable generation dataset on the site.
DateState/RegionSolar (MU)Wind (MU)Others RES (MU)Total (MU)Long-form structure. Shorter history than other datasets — POSOCO began this granular reporting mid-2024.
All-India source-wise generation dispatch, demand, net demand, and grid frequency at 15-minute resolution. The highest-resolution operational dataset on the site.
DateTimeFrequency (Hz)Demand Met (MW)Nuclear (MW)Wind (MW)48,667 individual 15-min readings across 507 days. Most recently added and shortest-running series on Supply.
Daily generation for six fuel groups — coal, lignite, hydro, nuclear, gas/naphtha/diesel, and RES — across all five regions plus All-India, with each fuel’s percentage share of the daily total. The daily counterpart to the monthly source-wise generation series.
DateCoal NR/WR/SR/ER/NER/India (MU)Coal % ShareLignite … (MU)Hydro … (MU)Nuclear … (MU)Two-tier header in the source workbook — fuel group on the top row, region on the second. 49 data columns in all.
Monthly and daily programme-versus-actual generation for every plant monitored by the National Power Portal — 687 raw plant names harmonised to 616 canonical plants across 6 regions, 35 states, and 4 ownership sectors, with capacity and PLF.
PlantRegionStateSectorTypeMonthPlant names were harmonised across a January 2021 NPP format change that altered hyphenation and dropped trailing periods — a known source of false duplicates. Daily actual and programme matrices add a further 3,059 days per plant.
Daily All-India roll-up of the NPP monitored fleet — how many plants reported, total monitored capacity, and programmed versus actual generation. The headline reliability and coverage indicator for the plant-level database.
DatePlants ReportedTotal Monitored Cap (MW)Total Program (MU)Total Actual (MU)Reported-plant count is itself a data-quality signal — dips indicate incomplete NPP submissions rather than genuine outages.
Monthly plant-level coal receipt (by source), consumption, and closing stock for 223 thermal plants, aggregated to regional and All-India totals. Powers the entire Coal Intelligence page.
MonthYearRegionName of PlantInstalled Capacity (MW)CIL/SCCL (kT)Pre-March 2019 CIL and SCCL are combined into one column; from April 2019 they're reported separately and summed.
Monthly imported coal receipts for 90 power utilities, split between plants importing for blending with domestic coal and plants designed to run on imported coal. Separates the discretionary import market from the structurally import-dependent fleet.
Report DateYearMonthSectionSub-SectorPower UtilityBlending volumes move with domestic supply tightness and are the more policy-sensitive of the two sections; designed-import volumes are comparatively inelastic.
Daily aggregate coal position for the reporting thermal fleet — domestic and imported stock, receipt, consumption, the normative stock requirement, days of stock in hand, and the count of stations sitting at critical levels.
DatePlants reportedCapacity (MW)Daily requirement (TT)Normative stock (TT)Stock domestic (TT)The reporting panel widens from 124 stations in 2019 to 190 by 2026, so absolute stock tonnage is not directly comparable across the full span — days-of-stock and percent-of-norm are. Normative stock is not reported in the earliest months and is left null there.
Daily coal stock, receipt and consumption for 231 individual thermal stations across 18 states — total stock split into its domestic and imported components, alongside the daily flows on either side of it. The most granular coal dataset on the site.
DateStatePlantStock Total (TT)Stock Domestic (TT)Stock Imported (TT)Five wide sheets — one per metric — each 2,719 daily rows × 231 plant columns, merged by plant name rather than column position. Stock is a level and is month-averaged over reported days; receipt and consumption are flows and are summed. A station that did not report is left null, never zero-filled.
Monthly raw coal production for each of the eight Coal India subsidiaries, plus SCCL and the captive/commercial block, against the target set for that month. The primary read on whether domestic supply is keeping to plan.
DateYearMonthFYECL - TargetECL - ActualValues in MT (million tonnes). Targets are not published for every month. The printed grand-total target is unreliable in nine months and is rebuilt from CIL + SCCL + Captives/Others rather than taken at face value.
The despatch side of the same monthly return — coal actually moved out of the pithead by each CIL subsidiary, SCCL, and captive producers, against target. Read alongside production, the gap between the two is pithead stock accumulation.
DateYearMonthFYECL - TargetECL - ActualValues in MT. Same structure and same grand-total-target caveat as the production sheet; the two are designed to be differenced month by month.
Monthly coking coal output for the five CIL subsidiaries that produce it, plus captive and other producers. Coking coal is the steel feedstock rather than a power fuel, and its domestic shortfall is the single largest driver of India's coal import bill.
DateYearMonthFYECL - ActualBCCL - ActualValues in MT. Shortest MoC series on the site — reporting begins Feb 2022, and no targets are published for coking coal. Several subsidiaries start later than the series itself; those months are null, not zero.
Where India's coal actually goes each month: power utilities, captive power plants, steel, cement, sponge iron, and everything else. The demand-side counterpart to the producer despatch series.
DateYearMonthFYPower - ActualCPP - ActualValues in MT. This is the union of the CIL, SCCL and captive sector splits that follow — the three should not be added to it.
The same six-way sector split restricted to Coal India despatch. Isolates how much of CIL's book is committed to the power sector under linkage, and how much reaches industrial consumers.
DateYearMonthFYPower - ActualCPP - ActualValues in MT. CIL is a subtotal entity covering ECL, BCCL, CCL, NCL, WCL, SECL, MCL and NEC.
Sector-wise despatch for Singareni Collieries, the Telangana state-owned producer that operates entirely outside the Coal India structure. Overwhelmingly a power-sector supplier.
DateYearMonthFYPower - ActualCPP - ActualValues in MT. No steel column — SCCL does not despatch to the steel sector, so the sheet is one column narrower than its CIL and captive counterparts.
Sector-wise despatch from captive and commercial mines — the block that has grown fastest since commercial mining was opened, and the one that reveals how much coal now bypasses the CIL linkage system entirely.
DateYearMonthFYPower - ActualCPP - ActualValues in MT. Several sector columns are sparsely reported here; those months are held as null rather than zero-filled.
Monthly lignite output for the eight producers that mine it — NLCIL, the Gujarat state operators, and the Rajasthan mines. Lignite is a small but regionally decisive fuel, and the fleet burning it sits almost entirely on the mine mouth.
DateYearMonthFYNLCIL - ActualGMDCL - ActualValues in MT. Some producers begin reporting after the series starts; those leading months are null, not zero. No targets are published for lignite.
The despatch side of the lignite return, producer by producer. Because most lignite capacity is pit-head, production and despatch track each other far more closely than they do for coal.
DateYearMonthFYNLCIL - ActualGMDCL - ActualValues in MT. NLCIL is the only producer where the production–despatch gap is consistently material; for the rest the two series are near-identical.
Monthly all-India generation and percentage share for coal, lignite, hydro, nuclear, gas and renewables, as published in the Ministry of Coal return. A second, independent read on the generation mix alongside the CEA series.
DateYearMonthFYCoal - MUCoal - % sharePublished to contextualise coal despatch, so the fuel boundaries follow MoC convention and will not tie exactly to the CEA generation series elsewhere on the site. Treat the two as parallel sources, not as a reconciliation.
How Coal India's coal physically leaves each subsidiary — by rail, road, merry-go-round conveyor to a pit-head plant, or other modes. The clearest available measure of rail evacuation constraints, which are the recurring bottleneck between adequate production and adequate plant stocks.
DateYearMonthFYECL - RailECL - RoadValues in MT. In May, June and July 2025 the source reports rail-cum-road separately and the Rail column excludes it, pushing the residual above 12 MT. Those three months are flagged as not comparable with their neighbours rather than silently smoothed.
Monthly statutory payments made by coal producers — royalty, District Mineral Foundation and NMET contributions, the three GST components, compensation cess, and the cess on coal. Coal is among the most heavily levied commodities in India, and this is what the state actually collects on each tonne.
DateYearMonthFYRoyalty - MonthDMF - MonthValues in ₹ crore. GST Compensation Cess is last reported in October 2025 — the nulls after that are the levy ending, not a reporting gap, and the total steps down accordingly. Dividing the total by despatch in the same month gives an effective ₹-per-tonne levy.
Monthly plant-level gas capacity, generation (target vs actual), and Plant Load Factor for 69 gas stations across 17 states, plus pre-aggregated regional and All-India series.
YearMonthRegion/StateStationCapacity (MW)Target Generation (MU)Regional and All-India PLF come pre-computed from CEA; state-level PLF is recomputed from summed generation and capacity, not averaged.
Monthly gas allotted against gas actually supplied for 65 stations across 13 states — broken out by domestic APM, non-APM, KG-D6, and RLNG long-term, e-bid and spot — plus alternate fuel use and generation lost to short supply.
PeriodYearMonthGrid ConnectivitySectorRegionMMSCMD is a daily rate — any period aggregation must be day-weighted, never a plain mean. The APM / non-APM domestic split is only reported through August 2018; later months use a combined column.
Monthly natural gas supply and demand for the whole economy, not just the power sector: gross and saleable production by ONGC, OIL and private/JV operators, LNG imports, consumption across six consuming sectors split between domestic gas and R-LNG, and a state-wise consumption panel.
MonthFiscal YearGross Production – ONGC (MMSCM)Gross Production – OIL (MMSCM)Gross Production – Pvt./JV (MMSCM)Gross Production – Total (MMSCM)Three sheets combined at load time — national supply (114 months), sector consumption (114 months), and state-wise consumption (19 months, beginning November 2024). The first seven months through August 2017 carry a source defect where consumption duplicates availability and the domestic/R-LNG split does not reconcile; those are treated as absent rather than as data. MMSCM is a volume, unlike the MMSCMD rates in the plant-level gas datasets above.
Daily frequency distribution statistics — time within the IEGC band, under/over-frequency excursions, average frequency, and min/max. The real-time barometer of demand-supply balance.
DateTime Below 49.9Hz (min)Time Within Band 49.9–50.05Hz (min)Time Above 50.05Hz (min)Average Frequency (Hz)Highest Frequency (Hz)IEGC mandates 49.90–50.05 Hz. This series ends December 2023 — no more recent data has been published.
Monthly and daily cross-border power flows with Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Myanmar. Tracks India's role as a regional power hub, both in aggregate and by individual transmission line.
YearMonthBhutan Export/Import/Net (MU)Nepal Export/Import/Net (MU)Bangladesh Export/Import/Net (MU)Myanmar Export/Import/Net (MU)Monthly coverage runs 2014–2025; daily line-level import/export data starts April 2018.
Daily scheduled and actual power flow between India's five regional grids, with the resulting over/under-drawal. Identifies surplus and deficit regions and physical congestion.
DateNR Scheduled/Actual (MU)WR Scheduled/Actual (MU)SR Scheduled/Actual (MU)ER Scheduled/Actual (MU)NER Scheduled/Actual (MU)Distinct from Regional Net Bilateral Transfers below — this is scheduled-vs-actual per region, not corridor-level.
Daily net power transfer across the 7 bilateral corridors connecting India's regional grids (e.g. East↔North, West↔South). Shows which corridor direction is the net export path each day.
DateEast↔NorthEast↔WestEast↔SouthEast↔North-EastNorth↔North-EastSign convention: positive means flow in the direction stated in the column name.
Daily line-level import/export between every pair of neighbouring grid regions, both directions, down to individual transmission line detail. The most granular transmission dataset on the site.
DateTransmission LineFlow (MU)Total (MU)14 sheets covering 7 regional interfaces × 2 directions each. 129 individual named transmission lines in total.
Weekly All-India transmission loss percentage on the Central Transmission Utility network. A compact but long-running indicator of grid-wide transmission efficiency.
S.NoYearWeek StartWeek EndPeriodAll India Transmission Loss (%)Smallest dataset on the site by record count, but the only weekly-granularity loss series.
Daily corridor-level breaches of Available Transfer Capability and of the N-1 security criterion across six inter-regional interfaces — how many 15-minute blocks were violated, for how many hours, and what share of the day that represents.
Date of ReportingReport DateS.No.CorridorBlocks ViolatedHours ViolatedTwo parallel series merged at load time — 17,146 ATC records and 17,373 N-1 records. ATC violations indicate commercial congestion; N-1 violations indicate a loss of contingency margin, which is the more serious of the two.
The full GRID-INDIA daily frequency report: time spent in each frequency band, the count and average duration of excursions either side of the IEGC band, instantaneous and 15-minute-average extremes with the exact clock time each occurred, and the daily frequency variation index, standard deviation, mileage and FDI.
DateDay<49.2<49.7<49.90<49.97Six parallel sheets merged at load time, each 3,878 daily rows. The band columns overlap by design — 49.9-50.0 is contained within 49.7-50.2 — so they must never be summed to 100%. Mileage and FDI are not reported in the earliest years and are null there.
Daily security-constrained unit commitment volumes alongside secondary and tertiary reserve ancillary service deployment — energy scheduled up and down, and the maximum, minimum and average MW held in each direction. The operational cost of balancing a grid with rising renewable share.
DateYearMonthDay of WeekSCUC-Up Scheduled (MWh)SCUC-Down Scheduled (MWh)Two sheets merged at load time, 479 days each. The shortest transmission series on the site — GRID-INDIA began publishing the daily ancillary services report in March 2025.
The monthly System Reliability Index in full: corridor-level ATC and N-1 violations aggregated to the month, the substation voltage profile for 112 substations at 400 kV and 765 kV, and a national summary strip counting violated blocks, affected corridors and substations breaching the voltage band.
PeriodYearMonthMonth StartCorridorBlocks ViolatedFour sheets merged at load time — ATC violations (510 corridor-months), N-1 violations (510), voltage profile (9,386 substation-months) and the national summary (102 months). The monthly ATC and N-1 series carry five corridors; the daily series above carries six, so the two are not row-for-row comparable.
Monthly transmission charges notified to every Designated ISTS Customer, split by charge component — AC unbundled and bundled, HVDC and RE node charges, reactive, total and bilateral — alongside the GNAsh/LTA quantum the charge was struck against.
Billing_MonthYearMonth_NoMonthS_NoDIC_Clean66 billing months, February 2021 onward. Customer names in the source notifications are inconsistent between months, so DIC_Clean carries the harmonised name; rows the parser could not resolve are typed as a parse artefact rather than silently dropped.
The access quantum held by each Designated ISTS Customer each month across the three regimes that have governed ISTS access — long- and medium-term open access, general network access, and the GNA shadow quantum used during the transition.
Billing_MonthYearMonth_NoMonthS_NoDIC_Clean66 billing months. The regime changes partway through the series when GNA replaced LTA/MTOA, so a customer’s quantum type switches mid-series; the two are not summed, and the type column is the field to filter on before charting.
Monthly short-term transmission rates notified per state under both the short-term open access and temporary GNA regimes, in the two units the notifications use.
Billing_MonthYearMonth_NoMonthS_NoState43 states and UTs across 66 billing months. The unit column is not decorative — rates in Rs/MW/block and paise/kWh differ by three orders of magnitude and must never be plotted on one axis.
The percentage waiver applied to each Designated ISTS Customer’s transmission charges each month — the mechanism through which renewable and cross-border transactions have been discounted off the ISTS pool.
Billing_MonthYearMonth_NoMonthRegionState93 customers across 31 billing months, January 2024 onward. Shorter than the other four notification tables because the waiver annexure only began appearing in the monthly notification in 2024.
Yearly transmission charges claimed by each ISTS licensee against the amount allowed, with the equivalent monthly transmission charge. The supply side of the ISTS pool — what the licensees are paid, against what the customers above are billed.
Billing_MonthYearMonth_NoMonthS_NoISTS_Licensee67 billing months, January 2021 onward. The largest of the five notification tables by row count, and the only one keyed on licensees rather than customers.
Every gas station offering tertiary reserve ancillary service, week by week — the fixed and variable cost offered for each fuel product and operating cycle, with installed capacity and ramp rates in both directions.
Week NoWeek StartWeek EndYearProvider (canonical)Station66 providers and 13 stations across 145 weeks, in NR, WR and NER only — gas TRAS capacity is regionally concentrated by where the gas fleet sits. One station can appear several times in a week under different product and cycle combinations, so a row is an offer, not a station. The two weekly summary sheets in the workbook are spreadsheet views of this same table and are read only as a check, never as a source.
Every thermal station quoting into tertiary reserve ancillary service each month — fixed and variable cost, installed capacity, technical minimum, and ramp rates up and down, separated into shortfall and emergency categories.
Period_IDPeriod_LabelPeriod_StartPeriod_EndYearMonth_No91 providers across 39 monthly periods in all six regions including AR. Periods run mid-month to mid-month rather than calendar months, which is why both period start and end are carried. The two summary sheets in the workbook are views of this table and are read only as a check, never as a source.
Monthly collective and bilateral Short Term Open Access statistics — total energy traded and participant counts, cleared through NLDC.
YearMonthC-STOA Energy (MU)C-STOA ParticipantsB-STOA Energy (MU)B-STOA ParticipantsC-STOA and B-STOA are cleared through different mechanisms; both are shown for comparison.
Monthly bilateral Short Term Open Access energy and transaction volumes by RLDC region. Reveals which grids dominate as buyers and sellers in the short-term bilateral market.
YearMonthRegionEnergy Traded (MU)No. of TransactionsExcludes exchange-based (power exchange) and collective STOA volumes.
Daily traded volume and clearing price across the Day-Ahead Market, Real-Time Market, Green Day-Ahead Market, and Green Hourly-Peak Day-Ahead Market on the power exchanges.
DateMarketHour BlockMCV (MW)MCP (₹/kWh)Purchase Bid (MW)Four contract types combined — DAM & RTM run the full period; G-DAM and HP-DAM started later and have shorter, patchier coverage.
Daily traded volumes for Term-Ahead Market, Green Term-Ahead Market, and Green Hourly-Peak Term-Ahead Market contracts — the exchange-based alternative to bilateral STOA.
DateMarketContract TypeVolume (MU)Weighted Avg Price (₹/kWh)G-TAM launched 2022, HP-TAM in 2024 — both have shorter history than the base TAM series.
Monthly G-DAM buy and sell volumes broken out by individual participating entity. The most granular market-participant dataset on the site.
YearMonthEntityBuy Volume (MU)Sell Volume (MU)Long-form structure — one row per entity per month, not one column per entity.
Monthly decomposition of the entire short-term power market — bilateral (via traders and direct), each exchange broken down by DAM, RTM, G-DAM and HP-DAM, and deviation settlement — set against total generation. The single best view of how short-term trade is split between routes.
YearMonthNumMonthPeriodBilateral_Total_MUBilateral_TradersPX_MUShort-term trade is a small share of total generation but sets the marginal price signal. HPX columns are empty before its 2020 launch.
Monthly minimum, maximum, and weighted-average clearing price for every combination of market segment and power exchange — DAM, RTM, G-DAM and HP-DAM across IEX, PXIL and HPX. Shows how far exchange prices diverge and where the spread is widest.
YearMonthNumMonthPeriodSegmentExchangeNot every segment-exchange pair exists in every month — G-DAM and HP-DAM appear only after their respective launches, so the panel is deliberately unbalanced.
Monthly price range for bilateral trades intermediated by trading licensees, split into round-the-clock, peak, and off-peak contracts, alongside the trading margin licensees earned. The bilateral counterpart to exchange price discovery.
YearMonthNumMonthPeriodMin_Price_Rs_kWhMax_Price_Rs_kWhTrading margin is capped by CERC regulation — the series is useful mainly for confirming compliance and tracking how close to the cap the market runs.
Day-wise DSM volume with minimum, maximum, and average deviation charge, plus the monthly price-spread summary derived from it. DSM is the balancing mechanism of last resort, so its price range is the sharpest read on real-time system stress.
MonthNumMonthDayPeriodVolume_MUMin_Charge_Rs_kWh4,381 daily records plus 144 monthly spread records. The daily series is served as its own lazy-loaded file rather than inlined, given its size.
Monthly count of active inter-state trading licensees, the share held by the top five, and the Herfindahl-Hirschman Index. Measures whether bilateral trade is consolidating into fewer hands or opening up.
YearMonthNumMonthPeriodN_LicenseesTop5_PctHHI here is expressed on a 0–1 scale rather than the 0–10,000 convention used by some competition authorities.
Monthly ranked market share for each of 74 inter-state trading licensees. The underlying detail behind the concentration index — shows exactly which traders gained and lost ground, month by month.
YearMonthNumMonthPeriodRanklisencee_nameLong-form structure — one row per licensee per month. Not every licensee is active in every month, so ranks are not continuous across the full series.
Monthly congestion statistics per segment and exchange — unconstrained versus actually cleared volume, how much failed to clear because of transmission congestion, and what share of the day congestion was binding, broken into four six-hour bands.
YearMonthNumMonthPeriodSegmentExchangeThe time-band split is the most useful column group — congestion concentrated in the 18:00–24:00 band points to evening-peak corridor limits rather than a general capacity shortfall.
Monthly Renewable Energy Certificate opening balance, issuance, redemption (via exchanges and traders), and closing balance. Tracks the compliance market underpinning India's RPO framework.
DateOpening BalanceRECs IssuedRECs Redeemed (Exchanges)RECs Redeemed (Traders)RECs Retained by Generators1 REC = 1 MWh of renewable electricity. The longest-running series on the Renewables page.
Monthly REC issuance and redemption broken down by power exchange and by generator category (solar / non-solar), sourced directly from GRID-INDIA rather than the aggregate registry.
YearMonthExchangeCategoryRECs IssuedRECs RedeemedComplements the REC Registry above with exchange-level and category-level detail not in the main registry.
Daily variable renewable energy penetration for All-India — wind, solar, and combined contribution and penetration during solar and non-solar hours, daily maxima with the exact time they occurred, and running all-time records for every metric.
Report_DateSolar_Hours_WindowSolarHrs_Max_Demand_Met_MWSolarHrs_Wind_Contribution_MWSolarHrs_Solar_Penetration_pctSolarHrs_VRE_Penetration_pct43 columns in total. The solar-hours window definition changed during the series — comparisons across the change should account for the narrower 0700–1700 window.
Daily wind and solar capacity, availability, generation extremes, schedule-versus-actual, and capacity utilisation factor for the RE-rich regions and the eight states that dominate India’s renewable fleet — reported separately for the all-India, ISTS-connected, and intra-state layers.
Report_DateEntityEnergy_SourceInstalled_Capacity_MWMax_Available_Capacity_MWDay_Max_MWThree parallel series merged at load time — regional (6,411 records), ISTS-connected (6,432), and intra-state (12,843). ISTS and intra-state layers must not be summed; they overlap.
The same daily wind and solar metrics for the non-RE-rich regions and states — Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh. Tracks how renewable build-out is spreading beyond the traditional wind and solar belts.
Report_DateEntityEnergy_SourceInstalled_Capacity_MWMax_Available_Capacity_MWDay_Max_MWThree parallel series merged at load time — regional (6,432 records), ISTS-connected (8,040), and intra-state (8,621). Solar dominates almost entirely; wind capacity in these states is negligible.
All-India annual CO₂ emissions and emission intensity from the power sector, financial year 2014–15 through 2024–25. The top-line trend feeding the Emissions Intelligence KPI strip.
Financial YearTotal Emissions (Million Tonnes CO2)Specific Emission (tCO2/MWh)Total Generation (MU)11 financial years — FY15 through FY25. Small record count reflects annual, not monthly, granularity.
Annual CO₂ emissions and specific emission rate for 313 individual thermal power plants across 27 states and 6 fuel types. Powers the searchable plant explorer on the Emissions page.
Financial YearStatePlant NameFuel TypeInstalled Capacity (MW)Generation (MU)7 financial years × up to 313 plants per year — not every plant reports every year.
Daily live storage for 31 major hydroelectric reservoirs across India, as a percentage of full reservoir level and against the 10-year average. Tracks hydro generation risk and monsoon dependency.
DateReservoirLive Storage (BCM)% of Full Reservoir Level10-Yr Average %Long-form structure — one row per reservoir per day. Each of the 31 reservoirs is also fetched as its own lazy-loaded file.
A filterable database of 1,838 individual conventional generating units across 6 fuel types and 34 states — plant name, unit-wise capacity, commissioning details, and ownership.
Plant NameStateSectorFuel TypeUnit NumberUnit Capacity (MW)Not a time series — a current-state snapshot of the conventional generation fleet, refreshed periodically.
Revenue from operations, tariff subsidy billed and received, UDAY and other revenue grants, other income and regulatory income for every state distribution utility, resolved to three total-revenue definitions. The table that decides whether a DISCOM looks solvent or not.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities across 36 states and UTs, in three groups — DISCOMs, GEDCO/Integrated Utilities and Power Departments. FY19 through FY25. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
The same revenue lines expressed as Rs per kWh of gross input energy, ending in three average realisable revenue (ARR) definitions. This is the numerator of the ACS–ARR gap.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtilityPer-unit figures are the source’s own, not derived here. 72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Revenue per unit restated on energy sold rather than energy input — so distribution losses sit outside the denominator. Reading this against the input-basis table above is the cleanest way to see what AT&C losses cost a utility per unit.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Not comparable line-for-line with Annexure 1.1(a) — the denominators differ. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Power purchase cost, own generation cost, employee cost, interest, depreciation and other costs for every distribution utility, with total expenses and a combined cost-of-power line.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Pure DISCOMs leave the generation column blank and integrated utilities leave power purchase blank; the combined column exists precisely because of that split. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
The expense lines restated as Rs per kWh of gross input energy, terminating in average cost of supply. Paired with Annexure 1.1(a) this gives the ACS–ARR gap that dominates every discussion of Indian distribution finance.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Cost per unit of energy sold rather than energy input, ending in ACS on an energy-sold basis. The gap between this and the input-basis ACS is a direct read on distribution loss.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Six metric columns — the shortest of the distribution cost tables. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Profit after tax on three subsidy treatments alongside the corresponding ACS–ARR gap per unit. The difference between PAT on subsidy billed and PAT on subsidy received is, in effect, what state governments owe their own utilities.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Losses are reported as negative and must not be read as absolute values. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Average cost of supply, average realisable revenue and the resulting gap, all on an energy-sold basis and all excluding regulatory income and UDAY grants. The tightest three-column statement of the distribution gap in the whole PFC report.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. Slightly more rows than its sibling tables because a handful of utilities report a gap without reporting a full revenue breakdown. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
The gap restated on cash actually collected — total revenue stripped of unrealised sale-of-power revenue and unrealised subsidies. A utility can post a modest accrual gap and a severe cash gap, and this table is where that shows up.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtilityFY21 through FY25 only — PFC introduced the cash-adjusted view in the FY21 report, so this series starts two years later than its siblings. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
The asset side of the distribution balance sheet: net tangible assets, capital work in progress, regulatory assets, receivables for sale of power in both rupees and days, and total assets.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility59 utilities across 26 states, FY19 through FY25 — a narrower panel than the revenue tables, because not every power department publishes an audited balance sheet. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
The liability side of the distribution balance sheet: equity and capital reserves, non-current and short-term borrowings, payables for power purchase in rupees and days, and current maturities and interest due on long-term borrowings.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility59 utilities across 26 states, FY19 through FY25. Reads directly against Annexure 1.4 — same panel, same years, opposite side of the sheet. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Equity, general reserves, accumulated surplus or deficit, capital grants and consumer contributions resolved into net worth, alongside state government borrowings and total borrowings.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility68 utilities across 35 states, FY19 through FY25. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Cash-adjusted debt service coverage ratio (DSCR) with its three inputs — adjusted EBITDA, total interest cost, and opening current maturities on long-term borrowings with interest accrued.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility59 utilities, FY21 through FY25 — introduced alongside the cash-adjusted gap and carrying the same five-year history. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Aggregate technical and commercial losses decomposed into their two drivers — billing efficiency and collection efficiency — with the input, sold and realised energy behind them.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility72 utilities, FY19 through FY25. The annexure number moves from 1.7 to 1.8 in the later reports, which is why Source_annexure carries both values across the series. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Revenue from operations and other income for state generation, transmission and trading utilities, with the per-unit restatement against net generation or gross input energy.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Power purchase and generation cost, employee cost, interest, depreciation and other costs, with total expenses and a combined generation-or-purchase line for utilities that do both.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
The same cost lines expressed as Rs per kWh, ending in average cost of supply. For a TRANSCO the per-unit figures are struck against energy wheeled rather than generated, so cross-group comparison needs care.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility48 utilities, FY19 through FY24 — one fewer than the revenue table, since a utility reporting revenue does not always report a full per-unit cost split. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Total revenue against total expenses, tax and deferred tax, profit after tax, and the resulting per-unit gap for state generation, transmission and trading utilities.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Net tangible assets, capital work in progress, non-current assets, trade receivables and current assets for state generation, transmission and trading utilities.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Equity and capital reserves, non-current and short-term borrowings, payables for power and fuel purchase, other liabilities, and maturities and interest due on long-term borrowings.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Equity, reserves, accumulated surplus or deficit, capital grants and consumer contributions resolved into net worth, with state government and total borrowings.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Receivables for sale of power in both rupees and days outstanding. Read against the distribution side’s payables-in-days, this is the two-sided picture of the money owed between state utilities.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility49 utilities across 24 states in three groups — Generation, Transmission and Trading. FY19 through FY24; the generation-side annexures run one year behind the distribution ones. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.
Payables for fuel and power purchase in rupees and days outstanding — how long generators are taking to pay their coal and gas suppliers.
FYSource_reportSectionGroupStateUtility27 utilities across 20 states, FY19 through FY24, and the only PFC table covering just two groups — Generation and Trading. Transmission utilities buy no fuel and are absent by design, not by omission. Every row is one utility in one financial year. The first ten columns are shared across all twenty-three PFC tables — FY, Group, State, Utility, Utility_Canonical, Row_type and the source annexure and page the figure was lifted from — so any two tables join cleanly on FY plus Utility_Canonical.